The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Early 70's Delta Concept 1 Amp & Speakers Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 10th October 2010
Here for the gear

Early 70's Delta Concept 1 Amp & Speakers

First off newbie here stopping bye to say Hello and starting off with asking about this old set.
Anyone know anything about these rare and old big-buck Amps?
Designed by Harvey Gerst and maybe only about 100 made?
Sold for 6000 to 8000 thousand dollars in 1974?
Used by the Dobbie-Brothers?

Last edited by max2343; 10th October 2010 at 11:54 PM.. Reason: mistake
Old 11th October 2010
Lives for gear

eh...Harvey Gerst is a member here...
Old 11th October 2010
Here for the gear

Ya I know and that's what led me to this site. I found an old ebay transaction from about a month or 2 ago. A guy had a real nice Delta Concept 1 head that he sold for 4000 dollars after having it for 15yrs. He explained a lot of history of this amp and also explained a lot about it and who used them.
Anyways that man just emailed me back and he said that he also just gave a Delta Concept 1 Head to Harvey for a trade on some studio time.This is getting to be soo kool for me.
Hope he catches this thread
Old 11th October 2010
Lives for gear

Yup, the Delta Concept I is in our studio and everybody loves it. It's only the head, so I'm still looking for the original cabinets to go with it. The speakers present a 1.2 Ohm constant impedance load to the amp, so the speakers can't be used with any other amplifier.

It's now 36 years old and it was way ahead of its time - with some features only starting to appear in current amplifiers. I doubt the figure of a hundred units out there; more like maybe 10 or 15.
Old 11th October 2010
Here for the gear

Old 11th October 2010
Here for the gear

Old 11th October 2010
Here for the gear

Old 11th October 2010
Here for the gear