The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
$5,000+ analog mixer preamps vs. $2,000+ outboard? Consoles
Old 15th March 2010
Gear Head

$5,000+ analog mixer preamps vs. $2,000+ outboard?

hey everyone,

lemme give you all a little background, first;

i am a relatively new addict to recording but i've been playing drums for over 12 years and I am a mechanical engineer by day. Basically, I feel like I have a good ear for music and I have an appreciation for a well-thought out design.

my dilemma is this:

i like the idea of being 'out of the box' although i am currently using Reaper software and their supplied plugins (mainly compressors) to supplement my lack of good gear.

long story short i am wondering whether purchasing a good quality mixer like a Toft ATB32 would be the correct idea because right now I'm using an Allen and heath zed428 which has compromised "recording" features in order to make it a better "live" mixer. i feel as though i'm currently just trying to adapt my style around this mixer and im starting to think about buying numerous outboard preamps thinking that their quality will be much greater than what i'm using... the fact is, i don't mind the quality of the allen and heath mixer at all! what the toft would give me is inline monitoring and more bussing capabilities...

how does a mixer preamp like those on the toft atb32 compare to a 'low hi-end' preamp like an avalon or langevin? am i going to be wasting 7,000 dollars for the toft ?
Old 15th March 2010
Gear Addict

I have heard great things about the toft...specifically in regards to drums.
Old 15th March 2010
Gear Head

and i realize this post is kind of all of the place... my apologies

i just feel like if i got the toft i could track with it, record to my dual alesis hd-24's, then submix with it. and do any post-processing in reaper...