The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Bearsville Q8 history... Plugin Presets/Expansions
Old 7th February 2010
Lives for gear

Bearsville Q8 history...

I'm doing a little research on the history of the Bearsville Q8 console...

Here (hear) is what I've found out so far... (not a lot but enough to peak my interest even more).

Seems like Les Paul and I had similar hearing...

Bearsville Studios 1969 console:

The whole building was built as a block building, but Studio B was outfitted first, with a Ted Rothstein Quad 8 console; Studio A was like a rehearsal studio and had no equipment.

Who used the console? The Band to Peter Tosh to Van Morrison

A good story:

Back in the early '80s, I worked as an audio engineer at Bearsville Studios in Upstate New York—certainly a country studio and well off the beaten path. Bearsville’s owner and grand patriarch, Albert Grossman, had recently upgraded his studio complex and all the old equipment was relegated to a storage building even more remotely located, where it would live out its days in dust and disuse.

Early one Saturday morning, I heard the front-door buzzer and could see on the monitor that someone was at the front door. I got to the large glass door and saw, of all people, Les Paul. I opened the door and the man himself said, “ Hi, I’m Les Paul,” and offered his hand. returned his greeting with awe, and said, “I know who you are, please come in.”

Mr. Paul had heard that Mr. Grossman had decommissioned an old Quad 8 console and was very interested in buying it. I provided the contact information and Les went on his merry way. I don’t know if he ever did buy that console from Albert, but he certainly made my day.
—Ken Lonas

Anybody out there with "war stories" of this console? The Q8 modules certainly are "one of a kind"... oh and they're friggin great sounding as well!
Old 7th February 2010