The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
US-built mics - need your experience Condenser Microphones
Old 21st January 2010
Gear Addict

US-built mics - need your experience

Ok in my U47 topic I pointed out that I know the German microphones very well but that I have very little experience with mics built in the US.

Here's my question for you:
I mainly record vocals, spoken word or singing. As preamps I mainly use my Great River or my BAE 1073 as I like their sound best. Mic wise I have a Neumann M-149 and several Brauners and although I am proud owner of their famous VMA I like the sound of the new ValvetX best, Michael Boenninghoff did an incredible job here.

So my question is: What US mic comes near or even beats the ValvetX sound wise? Does not necessarily be a tube mic, I'm open minded :D I'm looking for warmth and silky highs.

Thanks
Old 21st January 2010
Lives for gear

i believe all Bocks are USA, aside from the U195.........
maybe lawson

but i would not buy a mic based on the location of production....
Old 21st January 2010
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by tapehiss View Post
but i would not buy a mic based on the location of production....
Of course not. Just trying to improve my knowledge here and trying to find out what might be worth testing.
Old 21st January 2010
Here for the gear

The Josephson c700 is a great mic well up there with the Brauner series.
Also the Telefunken C12 is absolutely brilliant.
Old 21st January 2010
Lives for gear

I had a Peluso LE47 and a P12, and sometimes they sounded OK(sometimes they sounded terrible), and I had to sell them to afford a (used) VM1-lite.

I don't miss them at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuberizer View Post
I'm looking for warmth and silky high