The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Avedis MA-5 w/ E27 vs Lachapelle 583E?
Old 20th November 2009
Avedis MA-5 w/ E27 vs Lachapelle 583E?

I am in the market for two pre's and two Eqs. I'm just getting started and trying to get two really great Channels of preamp, EQ and conversion. I already own an Aurora 8, and am planning on using a distressor for compression in the begining.
I'm tracking mostly rock and alternative and will primarily be using these pres for vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, bass, piano and other various acoustic instruments.

Does anybody have an opinion for me?
Old 20th November 2009
Lives for gear

i dont have hte Lachpell 583e, but i do have the 583s, and its a great pre. very smooth, and sounds great on vcls, acoustic instrumens, bass, and probably most other things.... very smooth.... Only thing i wanst crazy about it on was drums, but i might have been pushing it a bit too hard on the input....

Also have an avedis ma5 and e27. MA5 sounds great on most things. In fact, i havent found anything i dont like it on. E27 is also a great eq. My guess is youd be fine with either of the choices you put forth....
Old 20th November 2009
AH great, thanks for the reply. Do you think the MA5 and the E27 couple well?
Old 20th November 2009
Lives for gear

i think they sound wonderfully together... that being said, I also love the e27 with the lachapell. Avedis is also a very nice and helpfull guy. i like supporting good people who make great products and stand by them....
Old 20th November 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianbryn11 View Post
i think they sound wonderfully together... that being said, I also love the e27 with the lachapell. Avedis is also a very nice and helpfull guy. i like supporting good people who make great products and stand by them....
Totally agree about Avedis being a great guy, but I'd also like to say that Scott's a great guy as well.