The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Operatic Tenor - Vocal Mic Condenser Microphones
Old 20th August 2009
Here for the gear

Operatic Tenor - Vocal Mic

Have recently been working with an operatic tenor on a live recording project - tenor and piano - in a fairly bright and reverberant auditorium acoustic.

I am coming to the conclusion that I probably picked the wrong microphone to use, but having said that - as an engineer I have no qualms about admitting that it's an ongoing learning experience!

Anyway, used schoeps on the piano and for ambience, and used a Neumann TLM103 for the vocal spot positioned on axis with the mouth at a distance of 4-5 feet.

The general sound of the recording is good, but the voice spot seems a little harsh. I have concluded at this point, it is probably the presence bulge in the TLM103 frequency response and that the TLM103 is probably best used as a close vocal spot rather than a distant spot.

As I generally don't want to be recording this type of material with close spots on the vocal, I am going to pose the question - what would give a nice warm sound as a vocal spot when used at a distance of 5-6 feet away from the soloist? U87 is probably out of budget range, but I am wondering about schoeps MK4 or MK21.

Some low-pass EQ on the vocal spot does help with the harshness, but I would rather get the right mic out there for the job and I am not 100% convinced the TLM103 is right for this particular application when used in the way I am using it.

I am intending to experiment further with the 103, maybe mounting it slightly off-axis, but it would still need to be at a distance from the artist.

Anyway, would be very keen if anyone has any thoughts/input regarding this.

For interest, pre's are MICSTASY, DAW is Sequoia.

Thanks,

Mark.
Attached Files

JG-rec-080809_mix_120809_NA_02.mp3 (4.16 MB, 3555 views)