The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Sony C800g + Neve 1073 + ? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 20th August 2009
Gear Maniac

Sony C800g + Neve 1073 + ?

Quickly earned good money, want to throw my money back in to my studio. I work with RnB, Pop & Hip-Hop. I need help with mic-setup's. I am a producer and "tracking-engineer". I never mix any songs (other than the rough mix to send with the tracks as a mp3)

Audio interface is PrismSound Orpheus. DAW is Cubase 5.
Room acustics are already superb. I want to offer THE BEST.

I am thinking on buying this for my new main mic setup:

Sony C800g ---> Neve 1073 ---> Universal Audio 1176LN or LA-2A...

I already have this chain:
Neumann U87 ---> Avalon 737

To sum up;

Sony C800G mic
Neumann U87 mic
Neve 1073 preamp (the one with two channels)
Avalon 737 preamp/comp/eq
Universal Audio LA-2A or Universal Audio 1176LN

With this I can have a lot of differnt cool choices, and can mix it up, depending on the vocalist for example record the Sony thru the Neve preamp and then in the Avalon comp, or rec the Neumann thru the neve preamp etc etc etc...

Suggestions? I am not an true mic/preamp-slut and want help before going out buying.
If anybody have suggestions about my Neumann mic, I am open for selling that and get another mic as my "second" mic.
But I find the U87 to work on alot of people, so it can be good as a alternative safety mic in the studio..
Old 20th August 2009
You must have lots of clients to be able to afford chains like these, damn.
Old 20th August 2009
Looking good!
Old 20th August 2009
Lives for gear
While the 1176 (or spinoffs like PA MC77) is cool, have a look at the Tube-Tech CL1b for tracking comp. It's one of those pieces of gear that you just can't go wrong with IMO (I do hip-hop/r'n'b/pop as well).
Old 20th August 2009
Lives for gear