The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What's the most important piece in a Vocal Chain after the Mic C800G ?? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 3rd August 2009
Gear Maniac

What's the most important piece in a Vocal Chain after the Mic C800G ??

Hello Guys,

I got a special question. I'm not a pro audio engineer. I'm more a Singer / Songwriter in a Home Recording Project Studio. I plan to build a little but very precious Projekt Home Studio.

I'd like to do some of state of the art R&B Vocal Recordings at home. As I read often here on GS a very common chain for R&B/Hip Hop

is Sony C800G - Neve 1073 - Tube Tech CL1B - Apogee Converters

I know of course the singer and the acoustic is also a part of the chain lol..

Here's what I have right now:

PC Quad Core using Cubase 4.5
RME HDSP AIO
Genelec 8050
UAD-1 with nearly all Plugz
DBX 576 (I hate this Boxx!!!!) wanna sell it.

But my costliest pieces are the Mic and my 8050's

I'm proud to say that I'm right now an owner of a used Sony C800G.
I was getting a great deal for it.
But I know that I'm of course still on the beginning for a high end Recording Chain and the mic alone isn't everything

Soo here's what I want to know from you pros. What do you thing is the most important Piece of Gear after having the Mic allready ???

I know first of all is

1.) Singer
2.) The Mic

3.) The Preamp ??? (wanna buy a used 1073 or 1272) or maybe an 737sp

or is the acoustic especially for my C800G more important on this point ??? (I know this mic is very very sensitive)

4.) Converters (what do you thing on my RME AIO with my combo??)