The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Loan me your Desert Island Mi Pre
Old 14th August 2005
Loan me your Desert Island Mi Pre

fuuck

Hey Pro Producers and Engineers - do you have ONE favorite hands down mic pre for agressive higher range female vocals? One that can also do justice to the lower spls - whispers, etc.?

I'm new to GS, but not new to recording/ engineering, at all. I'm hoping for some STRONG opinions!

Thanks, and please go easy on the wallet!!
(for you native SSL addicts )

I know - too many avatars for a first time user - how many are allowed, generally?

THANKS,

Sqye (pronounced sky)
Old 14th August 2005
Lives for gear

1084 - Can't beat a classic
Old 14th August 2005
Lives for gear

1084 sounds right.
Old 14th August 2005
Thanks for responding guys.

I've used the 1084 and I like it alot.

I've read a bunch of postings here basically slamming all the Neve clones - BAE, Vintech, etc. Are these units REALLY ALL not that good? Can you just dismiss them all without batting a lid?

I'm very curious to see what you guys REALLY think. I'm sure some of you have some intensive experience at least demoing these pieces.

What about the BAE Fairchild? 1108? 312a? I find it hard to believe that these units are all trash!

THANKS for your insight.
Old 14th August 2005
Oh, and what about the OSA guys???

Still curious!
Old 14th August 2005
Lives for gear

OK you need to get another Avatar.... this one is.... uh.... taken.

What was the question? Oh yeah, API.

Old 14th August 2005
Lives for gear

Yep, API 512...
Old 14th August 2005
Avedis EQ