The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Genelec 1031 > Adam S3A help
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

Genelec 1031 > Adam S3A help

Well I just got the S3As in the studio to evaluate. I have been using Genelec 1031s and NS10s for about 10 years. I always felt the 1031 sounded too nice and never really liked the NS10s (although I find them useful for checking mids and high mids).

I have been mixing with the 1031s for a while and have learned them. My mixes are pretty good and translate fairly well ( have to go back and do some tweaking at times). The problem is that things sound good even before I begin to really mix. I know whats wrong but the clients can't hear it.

Now, I have been listening to the S3As for about two hours. Some commercial CDs, Michael Brecker, Tales from the Hudson, Best of Earth Wind and Fire, and some of my mixes. Man everything sounds so different. It has me very confused. On a CD I just mixed this year with Steve Gadd on drums, his brushes sounded very present and almost too loud on the S3A. They were fine on the 1031 and the client was happy. Stereo seperation is much better on the S3As but the bass seams almost too tight. I know I need to do more listening and I am working on a cd now that I will try to mix on the Adams.

Anyone make the same transition have the same confusion I am having?
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

I haven't heard the S3A's. But I have this confusion when I listen to the Genelecs. Everything sounds weird in proportion. Not talking about frequencys which is also weird , but levels for me personaly I can't get them right with the genelecs. I'm a producer/songwriter whatever.. and my studio buddy has taken a very long time to get used to the genelecs. I'm sure, what you are hearing on the s3a's is a way more exact representation of what's going on than with the genies..