The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Siemens w295b help
Old 2nd August 2005
Gear Nut

Siemens w295b help

I need a users manual or something describing the various functions of my w295b if anyone can help out that would be great just bought one and have it racked and powered but I've only played with it a little.I have a small home studio with a focusrite red 8 mic pre, a dbx 160 vu comp, a lexicon vintage 200 reverb and the w295b. got a couple Mackie hr824's as well and a microtech gefell mt711s mic running sonar prducer. Any suggestions would be appreciated. (Hey I'm a singer not an engineer.)
Thanks
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

I use them all the time, what would you like to know? It is a very straightforward, easy-to-use unit.
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

Simple: Close your eyes, wind up the knobs and listen.
If it sounds right it is right.

You don't have to be shy with the W295b: I often end up with hilarious amounts of high shelve boost, also on vocals. These critters rarely get harsh...

The low shelve sometimes sounds just too nice, and there's a risk of overdoing it. The corner frequencie's pretty low (60Hz), so watch your woofers, or add a bit of HPF after the Siemens.

Happy tweaking.

Michael
Old 4th August 2005
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by echorec
I use them all the time, what would you like to know? It is a very straightforward, easy-to-use unit.
I would like to know what the high and low shelving frequencies are. Have diagrams for the mid range boost and cut but I'm not sure where the low end roll off begins or the high end begins.
Thanks,
Mitch Dupree
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

Corner freqs are 60 Hz and 15k.

I don´t know where they "begins". I might have the documention in the studio, will check for you.
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear