The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Producing RnB [message for ThrillFactor, e-cue, and other RnB headz]
Old 10th July 2005
Here for the gear

Producing RnB [message for ThrillFactor, e-cue, and other RnB headz]

First off, I'd like to thank all those who contribute to these threads. I've been lurking around here for the past 4-5 months now, and owe a lot to this forum for educating me on Pro Audio gear.

I'm a RnB producer/singer who finally got out of school and can afford some gear now that I have a job. I need some recommendations. I'm going to be doing all of the producing at home and getting my vocals recorded and the project mixed down at a pro studio. So my "studio" is really only going to need top notch front end gear.

I currently have a PC based setup, and track in Cubase SX 3. I make extensive use of my MPC 2000XL, my Yamaha Motif keyboard, as well as an assortment of soft synths. I also would like to track some classical guitar once in a while, but I figure I could do that part at the Pro Studio.

Here's what I'm thinking :

1) A Lynx L22 2 channel A/D/A converter for tracking
2) An API 312 (Brent Averill) as a DI for my synths/MPC
3) A Mbox to "port" all my cubase files over to ProTools LE so that I can take it to a top notch local studio to do vocal tracking + mixdown. It seems my life would be a lot easier if I bounce all my individual tracks into Pro Tools at home rather than wasting time doing it at a studio.

I also have an old Rode NTK (it sounds ****ty), which I could use to simply lay down vocals as "placeholders". Again, final vocals would be recorded at a Pro Studio - I'm thinking of CRC in Chicago.