The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
A/D I/O Light Pipe questions
Old 6th July 2005
Here for the gear

A/D I/O Light Pipe questions

I have been reading about Light Pipe racks and cards but I am some what confused. I own a nice rig... some analog most digital. I use a digi001 as the interface (for now) - I am looking to do the impossible it seems like. I want to be able to dump my entire production rig in ONE TAKE LOL.... is it possible?

For example:

Let's say I have 9 tracks on an MPC 2000 Xl running... midi out to a Korg Triton (not extreme) and have 5 tracks over on it running. Is there a way to multi track and dump all 14 tracks in one take?

Now I am un-educated to the Light Pipe... please bare in mind that I am a producer first... not an engineer but I do have a decent setup.

I am wondering when I read about these racks and it says light pipe offers 16 channels and so forth is that saying that it can transport all 16 tracks from the triton? cause that's worth every penny if it does...

I have had to multi-track the long hard painful way that takes hours of 2 trackin at a time and then lining everything up and creating the breaks and so forth... errrr... there has to be a better way...

if I could connect with someone that could guide me a little bit I would be grateful.

thanks.
Old 6th July 2005
Lives for gear

You can only use 8 tracks of lightpipe on a Digi001. But, you can use the analog inputs simultaneously with the digital. As an option, you could purchase a dual lightpipe soundcard and record to the hard drive and then import your 16 digital tracks into protools. Keep in mind protools will not 'talk' to any interfaces other than Digi and M-audio. Thats the reason for the importing.
Old 6th July 2005
Here for the gear

thanks man... but also keep in mind I am willing to scrap the digi001 and go with something bigger and better too... like 192khz...