The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Reverbs: differences Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 13th February 2009
Reverbs: differences

Hello fellow sluts!

OK, so Im pretty new to high-end gear. I heard the Dreamverb from the UAD card last week, and was pretty much blown away... I use Breverb for most of my needs, as it sounds very natural (comparing to other softverbs ive tried). But the Dreamverb had an edge that sounded sooo good, clean but sharp! Definetively not a reverb Id put on anything, and not necessarily for emulating real reverbs, but more for an fx kind of sound.

How does the more costy hardware verbs (2000E < ) compare? Are they mostly accurate room-emulations, or more effect-kind, or both? Whats the lowest price-class you would consider hw-verbs from? What priceclass marks the difference from soft to hardware ?

I guess there is no substitute for not listening yourself, but what are your thoughts?

Lotsa love!
Old 13th February 2009
Gear Addict

I was new to higher end reverbs also until recently. I had Vss3 and The UAD Plate 140 with a lexicon MPX-1 along with Convolution (gotta have good IRs to be good). They each had their place and I would put them all at the same level of quality. Dreamverb doesn't sound so good to my ears but could be useful for a special effect.

Then I bought a PCM60. Wow! what a difference. Width and space. Then I bought a PCM70 and that brought it up another notch. I also bought a PCM90 which is nice but not quite at the level of the PCM70 buit more versatile.

I am about to take the plunge into even higher end reverb (Bricasti or PCM96).

Dean
Old 14th February 2009
Thanks for the reply!

I guess Ill have to bring some wavesamples to the local distributors to check the lexicons out

Hoping to hear from you when you have tried the PCM91 ,)
Old 14th February 2009