The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
avedis ma5 - still loving it?
Old 11th February 2009
Gear Nut

avedis ma5 - still loving it?

i'm just getting into the 500 series this week (currently picking out my first 6-10 units) and i'm planning to get a few channels of avedis ma5. i'm definitely ordering them either way, just wondering if it's still as highly regarded as it was when it came out? there was such a frenzy of activity, with everyone saying it's as good as, or better than, a 1073. but now it doesn't seem to be mentioned much. are people still into them?

btw- the 500 units i definitely want are:

2 x ma5
2 x anamod 660
2 x derresser

then i'm not sure. i was thinking about adding a channel or two of pacifica (p-1), maybe purple action, i'll need 2 channels of good EQ. i don't know... this whole 500 thing is slutty as hell; i'm sitting here with my wallet in hand, like 15 windows open on my pc, making lists and diagrams and ****.
Old 11th February 2009
Gear Head

It is a really great preamp. I think it is every bit as good as my vintage 1073's. I don't think it sounds better than them. But I can't say the 1073's sound better either, they sound about the same. I've tried some of the other preamps out there that claim to be like a 1073, and I think this is the only one that nails that sound. If you are after that sound, you won't be disappointed.
Old 11th February 2009
I nub mine!
Old 11th February 2009
Gear Head

no problems here. Still love it. Don't forget the 28k button
Old 11th February 2009
Lives for gear

I think you'll only hear people saying they still love theirs..
I till love mine !
Old 11th February 2009
Gear Head

I like it. Very open with the 27k button. Really high end stuff.
Useful how it can color or be transparent.
Old 11th February 2009
Lives for gear

Sold em