The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
3-D Palpable Sound
Old 27th June 2005
Gear Head

3-D Palpable Sound

Hi all,
Not sure if this is the right forum to post this in, but here goes:

For a lot of the much older recordings I've heard, the vocals (as well as some instruments) that don't sit "flat" in the mix; they have an "almost there" quality about them. I assume that they were using tubes in the mics and pres. My question is, since these old products are out of production and very expensive, what tube products could you use to get that same "3-D" quality today? Is it in the mic? Pre? is it a combination of tubes in both? Most importantly, does it HAVE to be the expensive stuff?

As you can see, I'm new to this
Old 27th June 2005
Lives for gear

Could you state an example (preferably something pretty well-known?)
Old 27th June 2005
Gear Head

Neil Young's "The Needle And The Damage Done" from his lad]st greatest hits CD. The air and "there-ness" around him and his guitar are amazing!
Old 28th June 2005
Lives for gear

I think a lot of factors has to do with that 3-D sound, but the biggest part IMO is the mic! I own an U 47, U67... they have that quality, esp. the U47!

...well sorry, I don't know which of the modern mics, if ever come close to them??? and for a cheaper price? Honestly, I think that doesn't exist.

Andreas
Old 28th June 2005
There is only one

i think that was a sm57 on that recording.
Old 28th June 2005
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphajerk
i think that was a sm57 on that recording.
LOL uhh, yeah... I forgot... the only alternative.
Old 28th June 2005
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrakian
...Most importantly, does it HAVE to be the expensive stuff?

yup.

gregoire
del ubik
Old 28th June 2005
Lives for gear

I think that what you may be hearing is the 'room'. The ratio of 'direct' to 'reflected' sound reaching the microphone(s), as well as the qualities of both go a long way towards making a recording sound 'alive'.