The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
High end mic suggestions, besides the obvious
Old 15th June 2005
Here for the gear

High end mic suggestions, besides the obvious

I'm looking for a little help with info about new mics. What is blowing you guys away? I mean aside from the classics. And I don't mean "sounds as good as a 47!!" or "sounds indistinguishable from a vintage c12!!" And I especially don't mean "for the money, it sounds almost as good as...!!" But mics that really stand on their own. I am working with a guy who has the means to get any mic he wants, and has responded more to a few newer mics than classics. For example, after trying all of the usual suspects, we settled on a DPA 4041 for his vocals.

Don't get me wrong, I love the oldies, and I personally would rather have a u47 in my closet than a DPA, but I gotta admit, it sounds great on him. I spent a lot of time in big studios, for whom their vintage mic collection is a big selling point, but I have little experience with the new market.

Any input would be appreciated, thanks!
Old 16th June 2005
Lives for gear

I just got a Blue Bottle, and I am absolutely blown away! You can get them new from Sweetwater for about $4,500 with a single capsule, but they really come to life when you add in a few extra capsules for them.

Great mic, price notwithstanding.
Old 16th June 2005
Lives for gear

I can endorse the DPA 4041, I love my pair (you DID get the tube version, right?). As far as the other "first call" mics in my rather eclectic collection, I like the Gefell UM75, Brauner VM1 KHE and Valvet BE, Soundelux E49 and E47 (I don't care what they may or may not sound like, I just like 'em), AEA R84, Royer SF12, and the almost unheard-of AKG C426B. For SDCs the Gefell M295s just blow me away.

Scott
Old 16th June 2005
I have a Brauner VM1, C-12, and many other kool mics. 98% of the people I've worked with LOVE the Brauner VM1.