The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Advice needed regarding: Apogee Ensemble VS vintech x73i + lavry blue...
Old 8th September 2008
Lives for gear

Advice needed regarding: Apogee Ensemble VS vintech x73i + lavry blue...

Hi All:

I'd like some advice on mic pre's and ad/da's. I don't know if I should buy a seperate mic pre first (vintech x73i) and an ad/da later (apogee, lavry).
Or if an all-in-one unit like an apogee ensemble would be good enough for me. The problem of living in Europe is that geartesting is really not that easy, so I rely on gearslutz and the shootouts herein for buying advice.

To start off I'll put things in perspective:
- I'm a bedroom musician (pop/rock and dance music).
- My bedroom studio doesn't make money.
- I make pop/rock and dance music. The only instruments I need recording are my voice and guitars (elect and acoust). Drums and piano's are samples, so 1 mic pre would actually be enough.

My current setup is (in actual order of acquisition):
- Gibson les paul custom
- Macbook 2.16
- motu ultralite
- logic, ableton, NI Komplete 4, Waves Native Power Pack
- Euphonix mc mix
- Klein&Hummel O300's
- Pearlman TM-1 mic.
- But my room's untreated.
- I guess you can see that as time has gone by I'm becoming quite the gearslut for an amateur!

My future plans (in actually buying order):
- mic pre (a good mic needs a good pre)
- ad/da
- OR combine the mic pre + ad/da in a single unit.
- mac pro (I'll have the cash just in time for the refresh in january)
- UAD2 duo Nevana Pack

Help !!:
So I was thinking about a mic pre ever since I got the pearlman, and started listening to many shootouts on these forums, and finally decided that I liked the vintech x73i best. So single unit preamp wise, I've made up my mind: that's the one. No A-designs, no API, no nothing. I like Vintech the most!