The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need advice on getting my Pt session onto a cd w/o sounding like pickled ass...
Old 5th March 2003
Lives for gear

Need advice on getting my Pt session onto a cd w/o sounding like pickled ass...

Hi, I am a noob with a new hd 1 set up. In terms of a/d/a and cd burning, all I have is a Digi 192 i/0 and the cdr in my computer. My cd burning software is Cd architect. I took one 88.2 pt session and did the bounce to disk thingamaroo and burned a cd which sounded horrible...I mean scary bad. I'm talking about the audio quality and not my mixing shortcomings
For the serious stuff I do, I will be sending it off to a mastering house, but I would like to be able to burn some nice sounding cd's at home. Would my quality improve a lot by sending sub groups out of the Digi a/d/a to my Mackie, yes Mackie, mixer then to something like a Hedd then into a cdr? I could probably swing getting a Hedd if I sell my Fatso, but if I can get nice sounding cd's with what I already have, then even better.
I will buy some gear if that's what it takes to get results that don't sound like ass. My old Roland VS 1880 sounded better than what came out of my 88.2-44.1 bounce to disk process.
So what do you guys think? Am I just ******** or am I missing some key piece of gear?
Thanks,
Steve
Old 5th March 2003
Moderator emeritus

Re: Need advice on getting my Pt session onto a cd w/o sounding like pickled ass...

Are you doing any processing on the master fader? Specifically, something with dither? And which settings are you using to convert from 88.2 to 44.1, assuming that you're converting after bounce within Pro Tools?

What happens if you play the track from within the CD burning software, or from some other software that allows you to play SD2 or wave files (depending on what platform you're using)?

What happens if you bounce to disk without reducing the sample rate, tehn bring that file back into another PT session? Does it sound the same or different?