The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
500 series Lunchbox Advice
Old 26th August 2008
Lives for gear

500 series Lunchbox Advice

Hello! I recently invested in a 6 slot Api Lunchbox for 500 series units. I am new to the 500 series world, and right now i am using a UA solo 61 and a Focusrite ISA one for my main pre amps. Any suggestions on which PRe amps i should purchase first for the lunchbox that would compliment what i already have. I am mainly interested in recording vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, bass guitars, and drums. If you want to check out my music, you can go to MySpace.com - Ian Bryn - HUNTINGTON STATION, US - Acoustic / Indie / Grunge - www.myspace.com/ianbryn . Thanks for the Help!

Peace
Ian
Old 31st August 2008
Two recommendations come to mind... it seems you're picking up classic sounds - Universal Audio, Focusrite, and that's seldom a mistake from a production standpoint. So do yourself a favor and pick up Avedis MA5's and API 512c's eventually. I have two of each, and they are my go-to channels for just about everything. The Avedis is essentially a Neve 1073 pre minus the eq, and it sounds fantastically Neve. Warm, big, saturated, and it can be driven different ways with in/out controls. The API is API. Nothing else sounds - in my opinion - very close to an API at all. They are faster, allow transients through in a very musical way, they can be punchy, but they are still smooth sounding. Between those four sounds, you really have everything you'll probably ever need.

Welcome to the form factor 500 series! I hope you enjoy your stay.

Any questions about my recommendation, feel free to PM me, ok? Cheers, and remember: YOU are necessary to make great music... great gear, while helpful, is almost always optional.

Brad
Old 31st August 2008
Gear Addict

lunchbox...500 series modules..