The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Killing tape hiss and saving the sound...
Old 19th February 2003
Killing tape hiss and saving the sound...

Ok, so I got my Hd system for my little home project studio and realized this...it sounds good...for digital...and distorted guitars still sound fake and semi lifeless. So, I'm thinkin bout getting a 1/2" reel two real to track to first before the dredded a/d tone slaughterhouse. I've never done this before and admit my noobness. Here's my question: What techniques, hardware and/or plug ins do the "pros" use to get rid of the tape hiss that goes along with the warmer sound? I want the warmth, but I'd like to keep the hiss out of the picture as much as is possible.

Thanks for your help,

Steve

p.s. As I'm no repairman, does anyone sell 1/2" 8 track machines new anymore? ...or in great shape???
Old 19th February 2003
Here for the gear

Get an Otari mx5050 and an MRL, hit the tape hard and don't even worry about the hiss.

Charles
Old 19th February 2003
thks, what the hell is an MRL?
Steve
Old 19th February 2003
There is only one

lordy... dont get a deck then. get a fatsoJR or a HEDD. or a spider. or get a royer r121, or all of the above.
Old 19th February 2003
One with big hooves

Quote:
Originally posted by guittarzzan
For the most part I'm going to agree with AJ. But, what makes you think that tape is the magic answer if you've never used a tape deck? And don't tell me that you have, because if you have you'd know what an MRL is.
Old 19th February 2003
There is only one

whats really sad jay is this studio in town that runs analog 1" 16track, im not sure if they have an MRL tape for it... or if they align the machine. this place said they print stereo to their 1/2" 4 track to double tracks [1/2 L 3/4 R] for a "better sound"... i told them that maybe tracks 2/3 would give them a better sound than 1/2 or 3/4 staying off the "edge".