The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Analog Delay vs ptools plugins What's the diff??
Old 21st December 2002
no ssl yet 
Analog Delay vs ptools plugins What's the diff??

Guys I'm not really experienced in using the old delay classics. I'm considering a DSP upgrade for my mix system. And since a great deal of my processing power goes to delays/reverbs, I'm thinking about whether it would be wise to save dsp money (Since I don't want to invest too much in my mix system) and pick up some delay units ala Line6 or maybe symetrix 606. I know this will involve using inserts and the inherrent delay of ptools but I think it might be something I should look into.

Opinions??????
Old 21st December 2002
Gear Nut

If you have the I/O to spare, "real" delays are the way to go, forget the Line 6, ANY 80`s Korg SDD series will kill it...
I have an SDD-1200 and a SDD-3000, and they sound really great.
A little noisy, but the delays are smoother and sits in the mix much more than a Line 6 delay can ever do....
And yes, I have I line 6 delay too, but it´s now in my guitar rig, replacing my Echoplex in need for repair.... I miss it!

The Roland SDE series also sounds great, AMS, TC2290......

Amund
Old 22nd December 2002
Re: Analog Delay vs ptools plugins What's the diff??

Quote:
Originally posted by no ssl yet
Guys I'm not really experienced in using the old delay classics. I'm considering a DSP upgrade for my mix system. And since a great deal of my processing power goes to delays/reverbs, I'm thinking about whether it would be wise to save dsp money (Since I don't want to invest too much in my mix system) and pick up some delay units ala Line6 or maybe symetrix 606. I know this will involve using inserts and the inherrent delay of ptools but I think it might be something I should look into.

Opinions??????