The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Opinion about AKG 460B with CK61 Capsule?? Condenser Microphones
Old 6th June 2004
Gear Maniac

Opinion about AKG 460B with CK61 Capsule??

I got a pair of vintage small diaphragm condensors, the AKGs 451EBs...I did a couple of try outs only, nothing serious so far.
I have the chance to get another pair too, AKG 460B w/ CK61s capsules...
Anybody has any experince with these mics??? Do they sound the same??
Let me know your thoughts and advices!

Obrigado,

Claudio Mattioli
Old 6th June 2004
Gear Maniac

Has anyone tried these mic's with a large diaphragm capsule from Blue (vintagemicrophone.com) ?? Sorry, I have no experience with 460's.
Old 6th June 2004
Gear Addict

I've had a AKG C460B w/ CK61-ULS for about 10 years. While it does not get every day use, I wouldn't consider selling it either. I would like another.

If the price is attractive, I'd recommend you buy the pair. If possible try them out.

If you don't like them, send me a PM and I'll consider buying them.
Old 6th June 2004
Gear Maniac

I have had a pair of 460's for about 15 years. They continue to get used for all sorts of things. I also have the omni caps for them. I wouldn't sell them either...
Old 6th June 2004
Both the CK-1 and CK-61 are the same capsule. The thickness of the metal tube is the only difference as the capsules are the same.

The 460 without the transformer has better low end than a 451. A stock 480 sounds better than a 460 body. A modified 460 body sounds better than a 480.

I have tried the Blue capsule on the modified 460 body. It works well since the Blue capsule was designed to run on a 40 volt bias charge. The very high 10 gig ohm imput impedance of the 460 won't allow the 1" CK-4 capsule to charge, but the Blue works well at reduced polarization.