The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
beat detective??
Old 24th November 2002
beat detective??

i've been using a Pro Tools TDM system for about 2 1/2 years now, and never wanted to attempt Beat Detective until recently.

over the last couple months i've messed w/ it here and there, but it seems to make songs worse, if not totally messed up.

how can i learn how to use BD right? or are the 17 year old punk rock bands that come in unfixable in their wavering tempo blast beats and half-time breaks.

maybe i'm confused on what it really can do.
Old 24th November 2002
Lives for gear

There are a few rules in BD . be sure you have a click track . zoom in the first click to the very attack of the sound and make "identify beat" to a round value (ie 1/1/00) . go to midi-->change tempo and enter the tempo of the song from that beat you just entered . When you're in BD always select the grid mode and no smaller grid than 1 beat . first thing you do in BD is "capture selection"and check if the bars entered by BD are the same as your selection . Then when you analyse, check the points to see if there are not "false triggers" . To delete a point put yourself in "grab mode"(the hand) . If you pres alt you can delete the unwanted hits . I love beat detective ,been using it since the beta version and i've done great things with it,like changing the tempo of a drumtrack to adapt it to another song (this is were the "capture selection" is great) .
Old 24th November 2002
You are going to love PT 6 then, there are a lot of groove functions in it for Beat Detective.
Old 24th November 2002
seems easy enough, but 75% of these drummers can't play to a click track, or try it once, get pissed off cuz they screw up, then give up on it all together.

is it a lost cause w/out a click?

also. . .generally, do you use BD part for part (a verse or chorus, etc.) or on the full song (minus some intro/outros)??