The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
$1-2k mic suggestions to go with a Pacifica Condenser Microphones
Old 4th September 2007
Gear Head

$1-2k mic suggestions to go with a Pacifica

Hello hello.

I'm looking at getting a Pacifica and wanted some thoughts on general all purpose mics people would recommend in the $1-2k range. I am a film composer and have a writing studio that we don't really do recordings in (proper recordings of groups and orchestras are done in proper studios), but I have a small closet setup that I'm using more and more these days for vocals, soloists and demos and I'd like to get the best quality possible, since a lot of these closet sessions end up being finals.

Currently I use a Mini-Me with an Audix SCX25. It's a decent enough combo- a bit thin and crunched sometimes, but I get decent results. Admittedly, the Audix is pretty good on most things. I've even a/b'd it against a U87 and found that it stood up surprisingly well for such a difference in price range. The U87 was ultimately a little better, sat in the mixes better, but the Audix was a surprise. That experiment was also in a more pop context, which I don't do really. Mostly it's instrumental and orchestral music, and the Audix suits that stuff nicely.

Nonetheless, not being an engineer I thought I'd put it out to the boards here and see what kind of suggestions I get for a nice all purpose mic that will be a good fit for the Pacifica and my closet setup that would be an improvement on the Audix.

Thanks!
Old 4th September 2007
Lives for gear

Try the Brauner Phantom and the Panthera!
Old 4th September 2007
Lives for gear

One of the things I love about the Pacifica is that it makes all my mics sound better.