The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Active Ribbon Mics Ribbon Microphones
Old 29th August 2007
Gear Addict

Active Ribbon Mics

I've become more interested in these mics lately. Right now I use AEA ribbons, which I love. Problem is I'm very anti limiting/compressing, so often I have problems getting a hot enough sounding master, even after EQing out a fair amount of low end and level boosting.

Which of the active sounding ribbons would you say are most faithful to the sound of "real" ribbon mics?

Thanks.
Old 29th August 2007
Lives for gear

I have no first hand knowledge but I have heard the Sontronics Sigma active ribbon is pretty faithful to what an old school ribbon sounds like. I believe if you do a search, there are some clips on here somewhere of this mic.
Old 30th August 2007
Gear Addict

I got a pair of Royer 122. Ribbon mics that take 48v, what is the world coming to?

Love them. Ribbon characteristics with lotsa gain. I stay away from compressing to tape as well and the Royers get nice and hot.

I am very curious about the Royer 122v, tube ribbon mic.
Old 30th August 2007
Gear Maniac

Bluegrasser, what pre are you using? I had the same problem until getting the AEA TRP. I found the TRP really improved the ribbon sound on every non active ribbon I own. Go to the AEA site and download the .pdf article on matching preamp impedance to ribbons. I think it is in the TRP manual.

I own the Blue Woodpecker (which I just got, have only used it a couple of times) and the Royer R122V (tube ribbon). Both have a much more open mid and high end than the R121 or the R84 or R92 (I own those as well). The Woodpecker puts out a LOT, but it is much noisier than the other ribbons, so there is that trade off. The 122V definitely puts out more than the R121. I'm glad I have both the 122V and the 121 as they are a very different sound.