The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Set my mind straight! 30K! Dynamic Microphones
Old 22nd August 2007
Gear Nut

Set my mind straight! 30K!

Hello!

Finally i started a thread.
Only reading for 2 years, I decided to ask for advice/ recommendations.
I'm a songwriter and guitarist getting more and more involved in producing other people's music. In the process of recording/mixing myself, my band and other people/bands in my area over the past years, I acquired some experience/skills I think, learned alot and now it's time to upgrade my equipment. Getting serious (gearwise) in the end.

Budget 22K$ (16K€) for gear only.

First of all:

18 ReadyBags 6" are on the way to basstrap my room.
I will also get a new noise protective window.
I have Extra 10k$ for additional instruments.

The room will be used for writing, preproduction/overdubs and demowork. I will track vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, bass some keys, rhodes etc. No drumtracking! In the near future I want to mix some projects in here!

For now i think 2 high quality input channels are enough.

I have a fast, stable selfbuilt PC.

I have something like this in mind:

Focal Twins 2300€
Aurora Audio GTQ2 2300€
Gefell M930 (Stereo Pair) 2000€
AEA R84 800€
Shure SM7b 300€

Should I go:

RME Fireface + Benchmark ADC/DAC-1
or Lynx Aurora
or Toft ATB/SSL Alphalink
or Protools HD
or any other combination?

What to look for? Future expandability?, Attracting new clients? Quality? More Mics? Mac? Should i get a compressor now? Purple MC77 or Drawmer 1968?
... etc.? etc.?

There are quite a few routes I could go, I think!?!

Please set my mind straight and help me figuring out a route to go!

Thank you, Max
Old 23rd August 2007
Jai guru deva om