The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tonelux - MX2 modules - Revision E? Other Modular Audio Processors
Old 16th August 2007
Gear Addict

Tonelux - MX2 modules - Revision E?

Paul,
noticed that there is a new version of the MX2 module on the website. any tonal differences between the new version and the older versions of the MX2?
Old 16th August 2007
Lives for gear

Where did you find it? I looked and didn't see it. Haven't talked to Paul in a week.

Point it to me bro.
Old 16th August 2007
Gear Addict

from the MX2 page on the Products page, click the "tech notes" or "tech specs" link.

there is the old layout of the card called Rev A-D and a new layout called "Rev E"

looks like it has a dedicated op amp each for pre and post. but i'm not technical. just wondering if it's going to sound similar or identical to the old MX2s.
Old 17th August 2007
Lives for gear

Thanks.
The early rev drawing shows the op amps standing up, the later rev drawing shows the op amps laying down. I have early rev MX2s and they have 2 op amps per. The earlier versions have the op amps soldered to the vias, the new revs are socket. It's not uncommon to make minor changes to the layout that include various ECOs. hence the new rev. Keeps everything organized.
Everything else for the most part looks the same.
Old 17th August 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle barton View Post

there is the old layout of the card called Rev A-D and a new layout called "Rev E"

Many times in history of equipment new revisions didn't bring nothing good to table, just cutting corners.
Hope here is not such case.
Old 21st August 2007
You guys are so mean...