The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
API Lunchbox - A few Q's 500 Series Preamps
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Addict

API Lunchbox - A few Q's

Sorry, asked this in Low End aswell..

Ive been producing now for about 7 years. Got a typical Low End setup, including 2 PC's linked via FX Teleport, Cakewalk Sonar 6PE, Delta1010 interface, SM Pro Audio 8 channel pre, Alesis Monitor Ones and many plugins..

Ive always spent my hard earned dollars on upgrading my PC, upgrading my DAW (Sonar) etc. But am slowly gathering more rack gear, old samplers, synth modules ETC..

Ive been recording more lately - guitar and vocals, as most of what I produce is midi... So Ive been wanting to buy a nice mic pre, compressor and maybe an EQ..

Questions -

1. Are the modules (once you get the box) worth the money? (for someone like myself? Im certainly a Low Ender, but hope this can move me a step or two) - In Aus say, the Purple Biz pre is the same price as an ART Gold (dual pre)

2. Apart from in your recording chain, would you use any of the modules (Comps and EQs) when mastering? (Not that this will be the main purpose, but im wanting to try my hand in mastering, outboard - Just thought if any of the modules would be good in this way)

Thanks
Old 15th August 2007
500 series nutjob

i think you could put this in the high end, but it will be fine here just my not get all the attention as the high end who knows.
as far as the 500 format cards all i have reviewed so far have been very high-end regardless of price.
i have said this before i feel it applies to a lot of small studios, the 500 format is the way to go, ten to eleven pre's in three space of rack, thats a deal.
you can get very high end pre's at an affordable price, and their are a multitude to choose from.
and more coming.
as well their are some compressors, and some very very nice eq's.