The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
High end monitors for home hifi use
Old 6th December 2019
Here for the gear

High end monitors for home hifi use

Hi
First post so I hope its in the right forum. I'm not a music professional.
At present I use large floor standing speakers called Monitor Audio platinum 300s. These are award winning speakers that now retail at about £8k and they actually outperform speakers that cost more than that (imho)

My space is large, at about 8m by 8m. Its an open plan living room which is an acoustical nightmare, ie tiled floor, high ceilings and lots of glass. I sit about 4m from the speakers which are about 3.3m apart.

However I have a Trinnov ST2 HiFi which does wonders with room correction and makes it all sound very decent. There is no option to change the room.

I'm looking to upgrade my speakers and nothing in the hifi market really inspires me and a lot of the stuff considered an upgrade on my current speakers gets into frankly ridiculous sums of money.

That has led me to look at the pro market.

My musical tastes are dance music old and new ie old school hip hop, drum and bass/jungle from the 80s and 90s, reggae and some modern rap and pop.

A lot of the music I listen to is about the bass so performance in this region is particularly important to me. However not just bloated booming bass but perfectly controlled, deep and nuanced bass.
The Trinnov helps greatly in this regard and I intend to use it with whichever speakers I get next.

So my question is can studio monitors/pro speakers (with subs) perform well in a domestic setting at 4m listening distance?

I'm particularly looking at something like Amphion because you can stack the subs with the monitors which helps with floor space.

Thank you.
Old 6th December 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus View Post
There is no option to change the room.