The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Focal Shape 65 review
Old 4th May 2019
Lives for gear

Focal Shape 65 review

Howdy, folks, been a looong time since I posted as I’ve largely been satisifed with my gear, but I have to post a review of my new Focal Shape 65 monitors. I was using Adam A7s which were to me excellent but one of them died and it was time for an upgrade. Warren Dent has been whispering in my ear for years about “the truth” of the Focals. i finally pulled the trigger.
I’m no expert but these gd things are OUTSTANDING. For the first time in my life I can hear a full frequency response even at very low volumes. I cannot get over how much more everything they are than the Adams, and those were excellent. These are on a whole other level. The dual passive radiators, I gotta say, seem like a much better design than a port. The Adams at certain frequencies would get snagged on a resonant frequency and exhibit a lot of port noise. That’s gone with these.
Also these have the widest sweet spot I’ve ever heard.
Full disclosure, one of them stopped working, but they were very quick to issue an RA and I expect it was a manufacturing or part issue, which happens. I’ve had lots of audio stuff that broke. So I’m not worried. They are honoring their warranty. If this changes I will post, but aside from this these are one the best pairs of monitors I’ve ever heard I haven’t been able to hear the Barefoots so I cannot speak to that. I wish I could.
One thing I love about the Focals: the cabinets have little whispy plant fibers that eventually fall off, but it gives them this almost “garden” like feel. I’m very happy with these and I think they’re damn near perfect nearfields. Oh an I have them pretty close to a wall and it hasn’t affected their frequency response as far as I can hear. Summary: love em.
Old 5th May 2019
Lives for gear