The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Neumann M149 sound of bad tube ? Condenser Microphones
Old 15th April 2019
Here for the gear

Neumann M149 sound of bad tube ?

Hello guys
I'm a newbie to this forum so If I describe it in the wrong way please forgive me.
I just recently bought a used Neumann M149, when I plugged everything in and turned it on, there is a very weird sound, it is like a rumbling static and sometimes like a thunderstorm sounds, however when I unplugged the KT8 Cable and plugged it back in, the bad sound is gone and the mic sounded good again. It happened from time to time, so is this a sign of the tube is about to go bad? or are there any problems with the capsule. Please help me. Thank you so much for your time.
Attached Files

M149 (bad sound).mp3 (3.67 MB, 384 views)

Old 15th April 2019
Lives for gear

The sample is inconclusive. Please perform the breath test: if the discharge sounds change, you have a capsule problem. If they remain the same, you have an amp problem.
Old 15th April 2019
Lives for gear

That is actually normal and occurs when you switch between patterns. I've talked to several owners who experienced the same thing. Mine does that as well.
Old 15th April 2019
Gear Nut
That's if he's changing patterns during this clip - But yes - that's similar to the sound it makes when changing the pattern.
Old 15th April 2019
When I first turn on my M149 I get a big noise... then I turn it off and on again.... no noise.... Try that.
Attached Files

Neumann M149 noise 44k mix.mp3 (193.2 KB, 300 views)

Old 15th April 2019
Here for the gear

This is when I first turn it on without changing the pattern, it happens from time to time, I have to unplugged it and plugged the cable back in and sometimes it’s gone.
Thanks Klaus for the suggestion and everyone else for the input. It’s really helpful to me
Old 16th April 2019