The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Consistently producing music too bassy/ not bright enough
Old 14th March 2019
Here for the gear

Consistently producing music too bassy/ not bright enough

I’ve been producing music for years now and I’ve found that I consistently finish mixes that are far too bassy and not bright enough.

I’m also a practicing mastering engineer and I’ll compare my mixes to reference tracks (level matched) and without fail my first draft mixes start out with an excess level of bass and a lack of top end brightness.

I end up going back and tweaking my mixes most of the time, but my point is I feel like I have some sort of hearing impairment that causes me to focus on low end of a mix much more than the high end until it comes to mastering.

So to conclude, I’m not really asking how to make my tracks brighter or more balanced; just sort of brainstorming why my first drafts always come out naturally this way. Also wondering if anyone else experiences this or possibly the other way around where you’re making your mixes too bright.

(I use a pair of monitoring headphones for mixing in case anyone asks)
Old 14th March 2019
Lives for gear

Sounds like you're not getting enough low end through your monitors (or are trapping too much low end in your room (unlikely)), so you compensate by adding more.

If you can't change monitors or rooms to see if this resolves your issue, you might want to try referencing the low end of your mix to that of a reference mix on headphones you know to have good low end. It's not ideal, but it will take your monitors and room out of the equation so you can see if this is the issue.
Old 14th March 2019