The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
AKG Perception 420 and Acoustic Guitar Recording
Old 20th February 2019
AKG Perception 420 and Acoustic Guitar Recording

Hello,

I am new to the Mic World ... I am all ITB Producer and lately I have been wanting to record some Live Acoustic Guitar in my studio ....

I happen to have the AKG Perception 420 Mic ... I tried recording the guitar but everytime I find the take to sound cheap ... the recorded track high end sounds crappy ... I tried dialling in few EQs but still it won't cut it ...

Is it me or there's something I am missing here ...

Help
Old 20th February 2019
Gear Maniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Bechara View Post
[. . .] Is it me or there's something I am missing here [. . .]
Hi DJ Bechara -

Mostly what I know the AKG Perception 420 only comes from YouTube, and not direct experience - so my comments may not be the most valuable. Apologies for the limitation. And I will let others speak to limitations of this model for your application.

Can you provide more info about the entire device chain from the mics to the speakers/headphones? And also physical attributes like mic placement, room acoustical properties and treatments? What model of guitar/strings and how it is played [fingerstyle, light/heavy pick, etc.]? Has it been recorded on other systems and sounded better? What exactly do you mean by 'sound cheap'? How does the current result differ from what you want the hear?

You mention being new to mics? Have you gone through videos like Neumann's Home Studio series? For example, see:

How to record an Acoustic Guitar with only one Microphone.

Not promoting Neumann, just using this series as an example. Also, apologies for the portions of their series that are too elementary.

Best regards,

Ray H.
Old 21st February 2019
Lives for gear