The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Useful/High End analog gear for film/tv music? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 17th February 2019
Here for the gear
Useful/High End analog gear for film/tv music?

Hi Slutz, long time lurker, rare poster here. I'm a film composer who is looking for some fun gear to start working in a more hybrid style. I already have a wonderfully treated room, great monitors and converters, great tracking pres/compressors and all the plugins and sample libraries that anyone could ask for..so now i'm looking to blow some $$ on hardware. Most of my music is shipped off and mixed by a score mixer but I'm occasionally doing smaller projects where i'm just printing stereo mixes. For these situations, I've been using plug-ins (UA Vari Mu, UA SSL G-Comp, Fab-filter Saturn, etc) to warm up and glue the stereo bus and now I'm looking to add some sparkle with analog gear. Because of my work flow (writing tons of cues with multiple rounds of revisions) I'm thinking that one or two pieces of easily recallable gear that can live on the stereo bus will be the best (I suppose fattening up ITB synths and VI's would be useful as well). Trying to keep it under 7k. Here's what I'm investigating:

LTLO Silver Bullet
Black Box HG-2
SSL Fusion
Hendyamps Michelangelo and Pollock
Manley Vari Mu
IGS Tubecore
Overstayer MAS
SSL Style bus compressor
Neve Portico II MBP
Tegler Schwerkraftmaschine and Creme
WES audio Dione

I'd love to get something that adds color that I can't easily achieve ITB. 3D vibes over vintage vibes are preferred. Anyone working in film/tv using this kinda stuff? Other suggestions and workflow thoughts are very welcome.
Old 17th February 2019
Gear Addict