The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is soffit mounting much better compare to free standing? Studio Monitors
Old 27th October 2018
Gear Maniac

Is soffit mounting much better compare to free standing?

Hi Guys,
I am planning a theater room which measures 4m-4.7m*6m-6.3m*2.7m, for LRC I would be using Genelec 1238A or ATC150(If you have experience with both and would like to share I would also appreciate it), but I am not a pro so I don't have experience with soffit mounting, my question is would it sound a lot better compare to free standing?

I ask this because I just bought a pair of Kii Threes and they sound amazing. If a pseudo soffit mounting speaker could sound so good then I have to assume real soffit mounting ones would be even better.

I also have a pair of Genelec 8351 however both 8351&Kii are small speakers which would have 10dB smaller headroom compare to 1238 or atc150, so I won't use those for LCR.

This is my first thread here, I don't know if you welcome a non-pro, but deep in my bone I consider myself a semi-pro, I used to be in a band and love music&music production for more than 20 years.

Thanks in advance.
Old 27th October 2018
Lives for gear

Yes.

It solves a lot of acoustic issues to soffit. However, using active speakers, you need to re-rack the amps to a cool-able location.

Something like the Kii3 is not comparable to a full-size soffit mounted speaker. The Kii3 design makes the best of any room in a nearfield, low dynamic relationship. A lot of energy and drivers are devoted to fixing the situation they are in (sound "beaming" in the Kii3)

A soffit mounted large format speaker is about energising a whole room without acoustic low-end issues and with high dynamic range. All energy and design is going towards sound reproduction.
Old 27th October 2018
Lives for gear