The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Stavrou's Mixing with your mind question... Ribbon Microphones
Old 28th February 2004
Lives for gear

Stavrou's Mixing with your mind question...

Ok, the facts are that I'm just a UPS driver/guitar player who's, time allowing, trying to gain as much knowledge as possible in the art of recording, mixing etc. Being a slut, I have good enough gear to get great results, but am still a little short on skill.
I've been reading Mixing with your mind (the most expensive book I've ever bought) and am finding it very interesting and informative, but I'd like some input on the "mic hardness" ratings as I don't trust my ears just yet with something this ambiguous.
The main mics I use to record with are:
-Lawson Lmp47
-Shure sm7b
-Rode NTK
-Shure 57
-Sennheiser 421
-AEA R84

From my little bit of experience, I would guess the R84 ribbon mic to be the softest of my mics, but from there, I'm not sure what numbers to place on em.
Would someone who has read the book and experience with these mics give me your opinions on what hardness rating you'd give to each mic??? I would really appreciate it.

thank you,
steve
Old 28th February 2004
Lives for gear

...no one???
Old 28th February 2004
Gear Addict