The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
GTQC + 1176 + LA2A compression theory Dynamics Plugins
Old 29th April 2018
Here for the gear

GTQC + 1176 + LA2A compression theory

Been a while, hope all is well:

So,

Pop, hip hop, Rnb vocals compression chain theory:

Disclaimer:
1) I am not an engineer.

2) This is for a particular artist that records in a pretty low voice (volume wise) and vocals sound relatively thin when recorded.

3) very open to suggestions,

Goal:
1) Big thick up front vocals
example: listen to Legend by Drake. The vocals are ridiculously dominant.

2) Not much additional processing for vocals (obviously reverb n delays etc, but I mean plugins to make the vocals sound good, for lack of better words)

Chain:
Aurora gtqc + 1176 + LA2A

I plan to (or have the engineer) drive the gtqc heavily for saturation/color, also because his voice is relatively low volume.

From there I have questions:
Does it make sense to parallel compress the signal using the gtqc then feed —> LA2a —> 1176? If not what would you do?

My logic is the GTQC PC would thicken the vocals, and the peaks should be lowered so —> LA2A’s slower attack would smoothen/silk everything out pretty uniformly, adding it’s sonic character (which should slightly thicken the vocals?) —> 1176 to add the final coloring and push the vocals extremely up front.

Next I would melodyne the vocals to add back dynamics in the performance ( I happen to write about half the lyrics on each track, so I know exactly what words I want to be louder/brought out.

Previous threads tend to suggest

Gtq2 —> 1176 —> LA2A
For two channels since they would bypass gtqc compressors

Any opinion helps, thanks!
Old 29th April 2018
Lives for gear

Classic chain is mic pre > 1176 > LA-2A
1176 catches fast transients (fast attack, low ratio)
LA-2A brings up level (LA = levelling amp; not a fast responder)