The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Shadow Hills Mastering Comp (hardware) opto big noise problem (video included) Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 24th April 2018
Gear Nut

Shadow Hills Mastering Comp (hardware) opto big noise problem (video included)

Hello guys, i've recently acquired a Shadow Hills Mastering Compressor, used one, only one previous owner (a guy i can trust).

it was working perfect at the studio where i tried it, but after a 6hours drive (i tried to handle it with as much care as i could), i'm having a huge noise on one channel, on the optical compression stage. everything else seems fine, even the compression on that channel is fine, just adds a lot of noise when engaged.

Anyone has any idea of things to check inside before i have to send it to repair ? i've some experience in console maintenance (i redid my studer 903) and electronic, but i thought that someone here may know what the problem is ?

it's not just a white noise, it also crackles, exactly like a nice fireplace

here is a video of the problem :

ps : changing the threshold and the gain, or anything else, doesn't seem to affect the noise. it seems to be an ON/OFF noise, not related to changing a setting.
Old 24th April 2018
Contacting Shadow Hills is your best option to have it corrected quickly.
Old 24th April 2018
Lives for gear

Sounds like one of the amp cards needs to be reseated...
Old 24th April 2018
Gear Nut