The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Looking for suggestions on a high end version of the Big Knob Monitor Controllers
Old 25th February 2018
Gear Addict

Looking for suggestions on a high end version of the Big Knob

I’m tracking full bands far less these days and doing a lot more film score work and production in genres that don’t require tracking lots of live instruments. So I’m moving from my studio and building out my nice big garage in to a production room.

I’m having it designed by a respected designer and I’ll be upgrading my monitoring. I’d like to pair that with a monitor controller upgrade. I don’t need anything fancy. Just a volume knob, a switcher for 2 sets of speakers, maybe a mono? A mute? I just want it to sound GOOD. Active/passive, I have no preference.

I’ve been using the Central Station for a few years and for the price and functionality, it can’t be beat. It gets the job done. The records I’ve made with it sound just as good as records made in studios with monitor controllers more expensive than the monitors themselves.

But I don’t need all that functionality, and I think a better controller will ultimately sound better, so what the heck. More toys!

Any suggestions?
Old 25th February 2018
Lives for gear

I've been happy with the dangerous dbox
Old 25th February 2018
Here for the gear

I got the Heritage Audio RAM 2000 recently and it's been working great for me!
Old 25th February 2018
Lives for gear

Maybe Drawmer Electronics - CMC2 Compact Monitor Controller or their bigger ones

Matti
Old 25th February 2018
Old 25th February 2018
Gear Maniac