The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Need recommendations on what gear to buy for a pro level home voice over booth/studio Condenser Microphones
Old 29th January 2018
Here for the gear

Need recommendations on what gear to buy for a pro level home voice over booth/studio

A little bit of backstory. I am a USAF veteran of 10 years. While I was enlisted I developed a passion for voice over work and bought my first condenser mic, a USB Audio Technica ATR2500.

I had a blast with it and that started my love for VO and audio gear. Since then I have gone through several various upgrades to get where I am now. I have an Electrovoice RE20 with a DBX 286A and a Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB interface. All knocking on the low end of mid grade but they get the job done for the VO work im doing in my closet booth that I have treated with acoustic foam.

One area Ive always struggled with is the audio production side of things so I recently enrolled in college for audio production and will be using my chapter 33 GI bill benefits.

Now for where Im going with all this. I have a full time job and side business so money is comfortable. Just by attending college and collecting my benefits and left over grant money I will have roughly $40,000 delivered to my bank account tax free. My wife has already given me the thumbs up that I can use half of that cash to build a pro level home studio/booth.

So here I am, looking for what I should focus this $20,000 on. I have a few ideas but I figured a discussion may lead to some new components I wouldn't have thought of.

Keep in mind this is for Voice Over work, I cant sing or play an instrument at all. I will list a few items I had in mind toward my budget. Thanks for the help.