The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which FLEA Mic? Condenser Microphones
Old 31st December 2017
Gear Addict
Which FLEA Mic?

I've wanted a FLEA mic for a number of years after reading countless positive reviews on them and I'm now considering a purchase. However, they have expanded their line considerably in the last few years. I've always been a huge fan of the vintage U47. But FLEA now offers their mics in several new configurations...U48, U49, the 12, U47 Next, U48 Next, U49 Next, and the 249.

I'm a bluegrass singer and musician and harmonize with myself on recordings. I'm currently recording vocals through an RME Baby Face, to a UA 610 LA and a Manley Reference Gold mic which I love. But I'd like to have a few more "colors" available. I record my acoustic instruments (guitar, banjo, mandolin) through a Millennea HV3C pre. I would also like to be able to record a FLEA through the Millennia or perhaps a Great River pre. But I'm not sure which pre would go best with which FLEA?

Given the above info and given the fact that Nashville is a 12 hour drive for me, which FLEA mic would you recommend ordering for my application? I could always try the mic out and return it if it wasn't what I was looking for. I'm leaning toward (initially) trying the standard FLEA 47. I'm open to suggestions on the capsule.
Old 1st January 2018
Gear Guru

From what I know, the 47 is going to be pretty from the Manley, which is a good thing for your mic locker.
Old 1st January 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumsound View Post
From what I know, the 47 is going to be pretty from the Manley, which is a good thing for your mic locker.
If it's got to be Flea then yes the 47 or the 49 (which may work better with your voice and instruments will be a strong contrast).
Old 1st January 2018
Lives for gear