The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
API audio tour.
Old 28th December 2017
Here for the gear

API audio tour.

Tour of API headquarters.
YouTube
Old 28th December 2017
Here for the gear

Another one here:
YouTube
Old 29th December 2017
Old 29th December 2017
Here for the gear

Thanks for the links I've found that very interesting. I've owned a few API pieces in the past and the quality is always top notch.
Doesn't appear to be a huge company which I think is a good thing.
Old 31st December 2017
Gear Guru

Thanks for posting this
Old 1st January 2018
Lives for gear

gotta love that Les Paul board.

seems like a cool relaxed place to work.

Old 1st January 2018
Lives for gear

I live in the area. I'm a local truck driver and have been in there 3 times making a delivery. The coolest thing is once I saw a vision being made and liked to lost my mind. The warehouse guy thought I was crazy.
Stoked and crazy excited and it wasn't even my board.
Old 1st January 2018
Lives for gear

Wow, that's a MUCH smaller facility than I imagined.
Old 1st January 2018
Gear Guru

For several AES's in a row I'd go up this guy in the API booth and re-re-re-suggest that the 512c ought to have an output trim. He was always very nice to me and would only cringe a tiny bit when he saw me coming. Who knew it was the president of the company???

As it turns out, they went and did it -- it's the 512v, and it's brilliant. Not just an output trim, but a whole second opamp that's driven by the first one -- the "trim" pot is actually before the second opamp, not on the way out. It's not just a great pre; as an overdriveable reamp device it clips in a very, very nice way.

And it's only $50 more than the 512c. I'm not sure why they even still have the 512c, unless they just have a bunch of old stock.
Old 2nd January 2018
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Hahn View Post