The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Best way from here to engineer
View Poll Results: Best way from here to engineer...
DIY - Buy the equipment & learn it (includes studio savvy musician turned engineer)
5 Votes - 21.74%
School/university program diploma
2 Votes - 8.70%
Apprentice/assist working pros in studios
8 Votes - 34.78%
School + DIY
2 Votes - 8.70%
School + Apprentice/assist
6 Votes - 26.09%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Old 20th October 2002
Capitol Studios Paris

Best way from here to engineer

We've seen on the current poll on Jules' forum that most of the respondants are self-taught engineers.

But what do you think is the best way to go?

What advice would you give to someone starting out?
Old 20th October 2002
I really dont see how most youngsters starting out can NOT start with audio school nowadays..

Unless you have a relation or close friend that has a small (or large) studio set up and has the patience to teach you, how the hell are you going to get started?

In my assistant search an audio school graduate was what I was looking for.

However there is no "best way" in our science!

That's the crazy thing about the job!

The 'studio savy' musician to engeer route is frequently sucessfull too.
Old 20th October 2002
Capitol Studios Paris

Quote:
Originally posted by Jules
I really dont see how most youngsters starting out can NOT start with audio school nowadays..

Unless you have a relation or close friend that has a small (or large) studio set up and has the patience to teach you, how the hell are you going to get started?
By making yourself valuable and appreciated, and showing aptitude and attention to detail.