The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tonelux Equalux vs Sontec 250EX
Old 23rd September 2017
Tonelux Equalux vs Sontec 250EX

Wondering if anyone who has experience with these can compare them.

I've had a Tonelux Equalux on the 2bus for many years. The chain these days is typically: Passive sum>Pacifica>Tonelux>BAE10DC

I work on a fairly wide range of material here, but have focused my front-end + 2-bus choices to suit a 70s rock-folk-kraut aesthetic.

The Equalux has been a solid, effortless performer for shaping and occasional fixes. I like it a lot. While not sterile, it is fairly smooth and transparent, which is good a lot of times. But I think lacks a little excitement and oomph possible for this role. The shelves often don't knock me out.

But I'm not experienced with a lot of great EQs.

Recently Sontec has come on the radar. Where the Curvebender has been out of reach, this one could be obtanium. Perhaps even a better match for my already colorful rig.

Would the Sontec be a worthy upgrade? Can it cover Equalux territory and add another dimension of euphonic muscle?

Thanks!
Old 3rd October 2017
bump. anyone who can compare these EQs?
Old 4th October 2017
Gear Guru

One of them is made by a guy with a long term reputation of not only great sounding gear, but availability should you need service or have questions. The other is a Sontec.
Old 4th October 2017
Lives for gear

Sontecs can get replacements and onwards connections DOA.

Perhaps try a gml 8200 or cranesong ibis if you're after a fully parametric that's sounds ace and is more repairable.

I love my 8200

Wiggy
Old 5th October 2017
Lives for gear

A GML or IBIS are great EQs but a Sontec they are not.

As regard to the ToneLux - no idea, but I've just put it on my shopping list - love how much the bands overlap.
Old 7th October 2017