The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
PSI A17M vs Amphion One18 Studio Monitors
Old 2nd May 2017
Here for the gear

PSI A17M vs Amphion One18 vs Quested S7R

Hi

I know there's a similar thread, that I read, but this one is a little different.

I'm a composer for film and production music and I work mainly with virtual instruments (Vienna, Output, Vir2, etc.). I also mix and master my music. I have a Dangerous Music Source DAC and a pair of Neumann KH120 and a pair of Focal CMS 65. I use the Neumann mostly for mixing and the Focal for mastering, but I A/B on both stages. I like the mids of the Neumann for mixing and the more hifi quality of the Focals for mastering.

I'm thinking of upgrading this setup to a pair with a 3-4k budget. I have come to the PSI A17M and the Amphion One18 (with Amphion Amp100).

I'd like your opinion on these speakers considering that I work on classical/orchestral music, electronic music (not EDM) and hybrid music. I don't need a great bottom end. Perhaps the Quested S7R or S8R should be considered?

My home studio is treated but I don't have nearby walls behind the speakers because I use half of a large room (I have acoustic panels behind the monitors). I think this may be an issue with the Amphion since the bass radiator is on the back of the speaker, while the PSI and Quested have a front bass port.

I'm considering replacing the Focal by one of these but I'm still wondering if it's worth keeping the Neumann as a second pair. Or, if it's worth upgrading at all?Please give your thoughts on this.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
PSI A17M vs Amphion One18-img_0152.jpg  

Last edited by jdd5; 3rd May 2017 at 01:08 AM..
Old 2nd May 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by jddamas View Post
Hi

I know there's a similar thread, that I read, but this one is a little different.