The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Manley vs. PreSonus
Old 20th March 2017
Here for the gear

Manley vs. PreSonus

Hi all, long time listener, first time caller. Building up a studio and need that centerpiece analog pre to handle vocals, guitar and acoustic drums.

I'm torn! I want either:

Manley VoxBox
Manley Core
PreSonus 600

Can someone help me decide which is the best? I would love to have a good compressor with my unit, and vocals are the most important piece. However I've read the VoxBox isn't ideal for non vocal stuff. I also understand it has a different amp under the hood than the core. Which is the most versatile, big and worth the money pre for my situation? What about the VoxBox makes it worth an additional 1k over the core and what the heck is the sonic difference between them?

Some background- I'm just getting into pro level recording but I've been playing and tracking forever..

Thanks everyone!

Avery
Old 20th March 2017
Here for the gear
I have the voxbox and core, both are great for vocals, bass and acoustic guitar, not a fan on electric guitar but they are amazing on electric bass.
Old 20th March 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ganymede1 View Post
Can someone help me decide which is the best?
I own and love the ADL600.
I`ve worked with the Voxbox once and thought it was a great piece of gear as well.

Their featureset is very different, so a recommendation is not easy in this case.

If you don´t need a stereo unit (for drums you would need several), try to get both Manleys for testing and see which suits you best.

If you plan to record in stereo, the ADL plus a dedicated set of Compressors could be a more flexible and maybe cheaper solution.

PS. if you´ve meant the ADL700, I´d prefer the Voxbox any time.
Old 20th March 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ganymede1 View Post