The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
API 2488 or API Legacy Plus Consoles
Old 11th February 2017
Gear Head

API 2488 or API Legacy Plus

Hi Slutz, I'm looking to install an API 2488 or Legacy Plus (32) in studio 2. I have no experience of either console, only anecdotal opinions. I have found both for sale & they are similarly priced. I'm tempted by the vintage draw of an old API but would prefer the reliability of a 9 yr old Legacy Plus. Does anyone here have any professional or commercial experience of either that they would be willing to share to help with my decision? Many thanks, Jim

Last edited by furbricks; 11th February 2017 at 10:07 PM..
Old 12th February 2017
Gear Guru

Me personally I'd go 2488 or better a 3288.
Old 12th February 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by furbricks View Post
Hi Slutz, I'm looking to install an API 2488 or Legacy Plus (32) in studio 2. I have no experience of either console, only anecdotal opinions. I have found both for sale & they are similarly priced. I'm tempted by the vintage draw of an old API but would prefer the reliability of a 9 yr old Legacy Plus. Does anyone here have any professional or commercial experience of either that they would be willing to share to help with my decision? Many thanks, Jim
I guess it really depends how well maintained the 2488 is...

I had a similar quandary/choice a few years back. There was a 3288 available at the same time at a 32 channel 1608. Reliability was a big factor for me so I went for the 1608 and never looked back.
Old 12th February 2017
Lives for gear

Are you talking about the fish factory 32ch legacy?

It's a cool little console but a bit exy @£68k I think.. But that's just me
Old 12th February 2017
Gear Guru