The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Monitoring help???? Monitor Controllers
Old 22nd September 2016
Lives for gear

Monitoring help????

Hi all,

So I've got an avocet and active ATC having off the back end of that being fed by my burl DA.

I'm keen on integrating some passive monitors into the equation but only want one amp not a separate amp for each set.

What I'm looking for is this...

Output from avocet into my power amp (XLR) then into some switching device that will allow me to select between the passive sets whilst still being powered by the one power amp.

I saw the Coleman box and thought that might do but looking for something a bit more robust per se.

Also I'm a tech Luddite so is it ok to go speaker out from the amp into other connections such as jack or xlr?

I saw in another thread the pro co switch witch might be an option.. If there is a uk seller?

Any other suggestions?
Wiggy
Old 22nd September 2016
Lives for gear

Do you have an amp already? There was a post recently from a new (Brit I think) power amp company and they had switched, trimmable outputs. Might be worth a listen, I'll try to find a link.

edit: found it: power amp - FINI sound 180 watt 0.008% THD
hmmm 6 months on and no website yet ...
Old 22nd September 2016
Lives for gear

Im confused....

If you get a pair of passive speakers then you will need a power amp for them.
I assume you don't have one already?

your Avocet is a monitor controller that you use to switch between speaker sets.
the three black buttons on the left select each set of speakers

so your Burl would feed the Avocet and then the Avocet would have one pair of XLR cables feeding the active ATCs and another pair of XLR cables feeding a power amp which would then use regular speaker cable to feed the new passive speakers.

You don't need a Coleman.