The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
API The Box vs SSL XL Desk & SSL Matrix
Old 6th August 2016
Gear Maniac

API The Box vs SSL XL Desk & SSL Matrix

Hello,

I'm a producer and do mostly rock and pop rock music. I'm building a medium size studio. I already have enough Neve and API pre amps for a session.

I would like to know from people that have had the experience with these consoles what you think about functionality, sound, etc.

I believe both API and SSL are top brands as a part of the studio for the Clients. I think it would be a plus to have a console where I can get different functions such us monitoring control, summing, center routing control, extra preamps+Eq's, etc.

Please let me know what you like and what you don't like from these desks.

Thanks!
Old 6th August 2016
Gear Addict
Why not the SSL XL desk filled with API Eqs? Clean summing with colored pres and Eqs.
Old 6th August 2016
Gear Maniac

Thanks!

Yes that's a possibility.You mean in that sense I can combine both colors.

Also I would like to know about functionality and versatility if somebody has the experience.

Do you have experience with the XL Desk or any of these consoles?
Old 6th August 2016
Gear Addict
Quote:
Originally Posted by jffmusic View Post
Thanks!

Yes that's a possibility.You mean in that sense I can combine both colors.

Also I would like to know about functionality and versatility if somebody has the experience.

Do you have experience with the XL Desk or any of these consoles?
Not those particular desks but other desk. id have to look at the block diagrams to see whats going in under the hood. Just fron reading this list id say the ssl has a little more functionality than the API The Box. If it were the API 1608 then that's a different story.

20 + 1 fader, over 40 input SuperAnalogue™ SSL console
•8-built in Variable Harmonic Drive (VHD) preamps